Harrabeer Country Hotel reception and carpark

Our Reviews

Hare and trees

We have been rated as 4 star for our Bed and Breakfast and have also been given a Silver Award for our breakfasts, but we believe that our reviews from our guests are the best way to judge the Harrabeer Country House. Below are reviews from our past guests. If you would like to submit a review, please use the guest review form at the bottom of the page.

Guest Reviews

Excellent room

A warm welcome on entering. Excellent room, clean and tidy

John, October 2021, Google Review

A brilliant three nights stay

The previous owners, Michael and Amanda were always going to be a tough act to follow. But Nicky has definitely matched their high standards. A brilliant Three nights stay, and excellent service all round.
Would definitely love to come back again!!

Alistair, October 2021, Google Review

The warm welcome from Nicky

The warm welcome from Nicky on arrival and the fire in the lounge was a great start to our stay. The room was clean with all facilities and a very comfortable bed to help a good night’s sleep. Breakfast was fantastic, absolutely delicious homemade fruit salad followed by a full vege English. Nothing was too much trouble and Nicky even gave us egg in bun for our early morning start on the last day. A very relaxing break and will be back. Thank you Nicky

The new owner was incredibly welcoming and professional

The property is in a lovely quiet secluded spot while enjoying easy access via a lane from the adjacent main road. The new owner was incredibly welcoming and professional … the accommodation was very comfortable and well presented during our visit. The breakfast menu is perfect with probably the best full English I have personally experienced.

Martyn & Sharon, October 2021, Booking.com

Very good value for money.

Welcoming, Relaxed, like staying in a friend’s country house. Very good value for money. Breakfast very good. Lots of choice, Fresh cooked. Very relaxed being served. Excellent chats with owner.

Graham, October 2021, Booking.com

Would recommend 10/10

Devon Delight. We loved everything about the property and the location. Mine hosts were wonderful and couldn’t do enough for our stay. The bedroom was perfect with a huge en suite also the breakfast room was well spaced out and breakfast selection was very good and cooked to order … Great location to visit local towns and not too far for Paignton, or other English Riviera and Plymouth. Would recommend 10/10

William, October 2021, Booking.com

A Glorious Country House

A Glorious Country House. A beautiful property in a wonderful part of West Devon. Our second visit this year and again did not disappoint. A plentiful breakfast to set you up for the day, served by your host Nicky. Looking forward to visiting again at Easter 2022.

Jane, September 2021, Booking.com

Very friendly and helpful staff

Very friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant breakfast. Lots of choice and well cooked hot breakfast options, really delicious

Lynne, September 2021, Booking.com

Breakfasts were really exceptional

The Harrabeer Country House Hotel is in an absolutely wonderful location and the hotel itself can only be described as a credit to the lovely new owner Nicky and the obvious effort she’s putting into her new venture. There was absolutely nothing too much trouble for her – and her breakfasts were really exceptional- I’m not the easiest person to cook for being almost vegetarian but she wasn’t fazed at all and my food was fantastic. Nicky was a little apologetic about the room (she said it’s going to be updated soon) but she needn’t have worried – it was fine! The en-suite was massive!
It’s going to be great returning to the hotel in the future and keeping up the friendship (she’s really that nice) with Nicky and seeing her plans come to fruition.
Next time we intend staying closer to the hotel and taking advantage of the local attractions- And there are plenty!
Thanks For making our short stay a superb one.

Dave A. September 2021, Google Review

Nicki is so friendly and welcoming.

Nicki is so friendly and welcoming. I immediately felt at home when I arrived. My double room was extremely clean and very comfortable. Plenty of clean towels, toiletries provided, and tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. The breakfasts are delicious, a good menu offering variety and catering for all tastes …

Anon, August 2021, Booking.com

The perfect Dartmoor getaway

The perfect Dartmoor getaway. Harrabeer Country House is perfectly located for a walking holiday, most of our walks were within a 20min drive. It’s located just down the road from a lovely high street where you can get petrol, coffee, baked goods and of course a wonderful pub meal. The bedroom itself was cosy and comfortable with a kettle and an ensuite with toiletries provided … The breakfast included was fantastic every single day … great conversations and even newspaper to help dry our soaking walking shoes.

Gemma, August 2021, Booking.com

Her thoughtfulness was evident

We have just had our first stay under the new management of the lovely Nicky. She was bubbly, thoughtful and did everything she could to make our stay comfortable. Her thoughtfulness was evident in multiple areas – the special on the breakfast menu, her offer of tea and biscuits on arrival and her service at breakfast. We have booked for a few weeks from now and are looking forward to our next stay!

Carmel. August 2021 Google Review

Nothing was too much trouble

Our expectations were met entirely. Excellent breakfast and service … The host, Nicky, was welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely old property with homely atmosphere and pleasant grounds. We will definitely be returning.

Jan, July 2021, Booking.com

In a perfect location

A quiet, idyllic property in the countryside of Dartmoor but in a perfect location for the local amenities nearby, shop, cafe, public house, post office, takeaways in Yelverton. The rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable for a good night’s sleep after a long journey. The breakfast menu is varied and well presented with daily specials available. Nicky the new owner was very welcoming and hospitable.

Philip, July 2021, Booking.com

I can strongly recommend

I can strongly recommend the Harrabeer Country House for the excellent location, the comfort of the rooms, and the excellent breakfast alone. However, the main reason I would strongly recommend the property is the owner Nicky. She provided an excellent service and really could not do enough for us. She is very friendly and cooks a wonderful breakfast.

Kevin, June 2021, Booking.com

Breakfast was superb

This was our wedding anniversary stay … roses in room … then invited to a glass of bubbles – bless.  Breakfast was superb cooked to order and fresh as a daisy … perfect fruit salad … and cooked breakfast with full choice and daily specials …. individual breakfast menu filled in the day before … so in the morning after Nicky greets you let the feast begin … cooked to perfection !!!

Graham, June 2021, Booking.com

I felt so welcome!

It was a great stay. I felt so welcome! Nicky has just taken over the running of the Harrabeer (I was only her third guest!) and is obviously keen to maintain its reputation. She was very welcoming and the breakfasts were excellent. I especially liked the way the guests were introduced to each other. During my stay it was like one happy family! Highly recommended!

Donald, May 2021, Booking.com

Fantastic Time Reluctance To leave

Nicky made us most welcome , l am very pleased that i chose this hotel easy to find in a very quiet location.The room was very nice with an exceptional large bathroom and shower.
The choice for breakfast is superb all freshly cooked, no reheated portions!
Mine Host could not have been better.
We are looking forward to seeing you again

Terry B.

B&B

We were only with you for a short stay but it was an amazing event and througthly enjoyed by us both, we were in need of peace and re-fresh and that’s what we got in spades.
We will be back.

Lucy Coombes

Nice stay with very warm hosts

Last week we stayed in your accommodation with our French friends. You made us feel very welcome and although we could only stay one night we did have a very nice time.

Thanks. Andy, Eileen, Eric et Guillaine

Andy Taylor

Guest Review Form

Required

rating fields

Window with tea-cups on window ledge in Bar